Home » Review of the Month

Review of the Month

Review of the Month

Here at SC, we value each and every review, and we want to share with you some of the best we have!

Each month we will highlight an exceptional example that showcases everything you could ask for in a review.

November 2016

Overall Rating:  

  • Vendor: Rusty Fly Charters – View Listing
  • Location: Gloucester, MA
  • Author: Adam
  • Review Type: Charter
  • Date of Visit: November 10, 2016
  • Overall Rating: 

 

 

 

 

 

My first saltwater trip, I gave Capt. Rust a blank check on what to target. He worked hard, and was willing to push an extra mile or motor to a different spot to get me on fish. I finally connected on a bucket list tarpon in a small mangrove. What an awesome experience. Capt Rust was enthusiastic, sociable , easy to talk and connect with and very positive. He was all business when a fish presented itself and he did everything to give me the opportunity. We even fished passed the hours I had booked in hopes of a bonefish. When I return to the keys, I’m only making one call. It will be to Rusty Fly Charters.

September 2016

Overall Rating:  

  • Vendor: Tuna Hunter Charters – View Listing
  • Location: Gloucester, MA
  • Author: JKlug10
  • Review Type: Charter
  • Date of Visit: September 2, 2016
  • Overall Rating: 

 

 

 

 

 

The captain and crew were very knowledgeable of the local conditions and ran a professional boat with top-notch equipment to bring in a fish this large. They’ve been around for years and clearly know what they’re doing. They did bicker like an old married couple at times but its likely just because they’ve worked together for so long. Can’t wait to do it again next year and hopefully get just as lucky as we did this year.

August 2016

Overall Rating:  

  • Vendor: Little Sister Charters – View Listing
  • Location: Quincy, MA
  • Author: Michael
  • Review Type: Charter
  • Date of Visit: July 13, 2016
  • Overall Rating: 

 

 

 

 

 

I always have a good time fishing with Captain Jason Colby. This man really knows his stuff. He made the trip fun which is always a good thing. I have been fishing on the Little Sister for quite a few years and I can honestly say I have not had a bad trip. We always and I mean always catch fish no matter what the conditions.

July 2016

Overall Rating:  

  • Vendor: Block Island Fish Works – View Listing
  • Location: New Shoreham, RI
  • Author: hammerinhank713 on August 3, 2016
  • Review Type: Guides
  • Date of Visit: July 30, 2016
  • Overall Rating: 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Great trip out with my brother and a few friends. Capt. Chris REALLY knows the local waters and hit up a lot of spots around the island, catching blues and stripers on top water plugs and soft plastics. If your into light tackle, this is the trip to make when your on the island. Aside from the fishing, the views around the island can’t be beat. In my opinion, the Block Island Fishworks tackle shop is the best of the Island. Hank at the shop is happy to provide a detailed fishing report and discuss surfcasting locations based on your gear and experience level. Prices also seem reasonable.

 

 

June 2016

Overall Rating:  

  • Vendor: Spey Casting North East – View Listing
  • Location: Farmington, CT
  • Author: Fred on June 7, 2016
  • Review Type: Guides
  • Date of Visit: June 4, 2016
  • Overall Rating: 

 

 

 

 

 

Jerry Jahn gave a Spey Casting presentation to The Housatonic Fly Fisherman’s Association last Saturday on the Housatonic River in Cornwall Ct.  He took a difficult, complex subject, simplified it, and made it clear and understandable to novices.  He explained the rods, lines and their relationships to successful Spey casting.  Thereafter, Jerry and Lisa Weiner gave us individual instruction allowing us to successfully  make our first Spey casts with both Spey and switch rods.

May 2016

Overall Rating: 

  • Vendor: Larry Babin’s Hogs on the Fly Guide Service – View Listing
  • Location: Mountain Home, AR
  • Author: Craig on May 18, 2016
  • Review Type: Guides
  • Date of Visit: May 18, 2016
  • Overall Rating: 

 

 

 

 

 

I am new to fishing and went with my son, who is an avid fisherman. Our trip was MORE than I was expecting! Our guide, Larry Babin of Hogs on the Fly, was ever the helpful and skilled guide for me. Our trip was MOST enjoyable and exceeded my expectations by a mile. I highly recommend Larry … you will be more than satisfied … you will be VERY impressed! This was definitely a “WOW!”

April 2016

Overall Rating: 

  • Vendor: Living Water Guide Service – View Listing
  • Location: Pawleys Island, SC
  • Author: Justin on April 11, 2016
  • Review Type: Guides
  • Date of Visit: August 5, 2015
  • Overall Rating:

 

 

 

 

 

I had the pleasure of fishing with Jeff Lattig of Living Water Guide Service this past summer during some rather tough conditions. My family spends a week in Myrtle Beach every year and I usually get the chance to sneak away for a day or two to fish. I had one day to fish after being rained out the days prior. The area had received 6 inches of rain over the past few days and the bay/marsh waters were muddy. Jeff knew the conditions would be tough and explained what we would likely be up against, however I was anxious just to get out on the water so we took a shot at it. The fishing itself was tough, but what I was impressed with was Jeff’s willingness to do whatever it took to get me in a position to have a shot at hooking up with a Redfish. We covered every scenario that day. From poling up small creeks and wading in knee deep mud, to running the bay and pushing the skiff over sloppy muck on low tide. He worked his butt off in order to make sure we made the best out of the less than favorable fishing conditions, and it paid off big time. I found myself in the back of small creek with countless Redfish tailing and cruising the oyster beds, and ended the day hooking and landing a huge bull red. Being a guide myself, it’s an awesome feeling when your hard work is rewarded, and I know Jeff was just as proud of the fish we caught as I was. His knowledge of the area is second to none, and his boat and equipment are top notch, as you might expect from an Orvis endorsed guide. I would recommend Jeff and his guide service to any of my friends, family, or other fellow anglers looking for a fishing guide on the South Carolina coast!

Justin Pickett
www.GinkandGasoline.com